The Iron Lady


100_0391

Today, I streamed this movie, The Iron Lady, starring Meryl Streep, through Kentucky Libraries Unbound.  Here is a description, found on their site.

Meryl Streep (AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY, DOUBT, MAMMA MIA!) gives an OSCAR®-winning performance as Margaret Thatcher in this surprising and intimate portrait of the first and only female Prime Minster of the United Kingdom. Smashing through the barriers of gender and class, Thatcher is arguably one of the 20th century’s most influential women. THE IRON LADY weaves the intricacies of Thatcher’s personal life with her policy decisions, focusing on the price that she paid for power.


Favorite Quotes: 


“It used to be about trying to do something.  Now it’s about trying to be someone.”


“People don’t think anymore.  They feel.”


“Watch your thoughts, for they become words.  Watch your words, for they become actions.  Watch your actions, for they become habits.  Watch your habits, for they become your character.  Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.  What we think, we become.”


“We will stand on principle, or we will not stand at all.”


Favorite Scene:

The Margaret Thatcher character’s makeover.  She is willing to give up her hat, but is not willing to surrender wearing her pearls.


I wish I knew more about the life and career of Margaret Thatcher.  Perhaps someday I’ll do some reading about her, but as of now I have quite enough on my list.  I do feel totally unequipped to make any judgments as to the historical accuracy of this film or truly how accurately it represents her leadership.

However, I can speak about my feelings on the movie in itself.  I’m not sure, based on the movie and what it shows of Thatcher’s character whether I should like her as a person, as a woman, and as a politician or not.  There are certainly things I respected about her and most definitely places where I just don’t understand her.

That’s one of the wonderful things about the movie, though.  She’s portrayed as a complex character with many facets to her life.  A human being first of all, but with a job, perhaps even a calling–or is it an ambition, as her husband seems to see it–that is larger than everyday life and maybe a bit bigger than herself.  It makes the movie relatable.  I couldn’t help but put myself in her shoes and find myself overwhelmed by it all, watching it and imagining what it must have been like.  I wanted to cheer her on, my heart broke for her and along with hers, and I also felt absolutely disgusted by her decisions at times.

Meryl Streep does a brilliant job, in my opinion, of portraying the depth of this character.  I couldn’t believe it didn’t get higher ratings than it did.  Most everything I could find was always somewhere around 3/5 stars.

This is a fairly clean movie, I think, though it’s rated PG-13.  However, I can see why it is rated PG-13.  Some of the footage may be disturbing and it isn’t suitable for younger viewers or anyone who may have trouble with scenes of violence or political unrest.

Overall, I would say I definitely recommend this movie, especially if you like Meryl Streep.

Leave a Reply

