Dragonheart


100_0391

Long ago, when majestic fire-breathers soared the skies, there lived a knight who would come face-to-face and heart-to-heart with the most remarkable creature that ever existed–the dragon.  The legend continues when a stable boy discovers the last living fire-breathing dragon and realizes his dream of becoming a knight in shining armor may come true.

John Dennis Quaid, Academy Award winner Sean Connery, Chris Masterson and Robby Benson in the fantasy-adventure that will thrill the entire family.”  (Description from the dvd case.)


This movie isn’t what I’d normally choose, but I’m being pretty adventurous with my choices lately when I stream them for free or check them out from the library.  It’s part of the fun for me, trying out things that I wouldn’t normally pick up.  So, I picked this one up and thought I’d give it a shot.

Dragonheart is rated PG-13 for action/violence.  It’s pretty clean, though.  Not a lot of adult situations or objectionable language.  Just what you might expect from a movie with sword fighting and fire breathing dragons.  Though, I will warn anyone reading that it does include some use of ummm genital injuries as humor.  Nothing worse than America’s Funniest Videos, trust me lol.  I don’t know if I’d recommend it for the very little ones, just because of the stabbing and sword fighting (as well as risk of mimicking the genital injuries as humor), but use your judgement.  I think it’s a fantastic family film, complete with not one but 2 strong female characters for the young ladies.

This movie is a little campy, a lot cheesy.  There’s a little morality throughout, but it’s not heavy at all.  It’s definitely heavy on the humor.  For me it’s Princess Bride meets Monty Python.

I genuinely enjoyed Dragonheart and intend to watch the second as well.  I recommend it to any 80’s or 90’s kids.  Pick yourself up some fruit roll ups and indulge your inner child.


Favorite Quotes

“Only you could keep such a good brain under such a bad hat.”

“Why waste good food on bad rhetoric?”

[Festive Ruckus]  (A caption, but hilarious no less and representative of the humor of this movie.)

“Valor, virtue, truth.”

“Dreams die hard and you hold them in your hands long after they’ve turned to dust.”

“Even in the darkness there is still light.”


Favorite Scene

Into the Mouth of Death


Favorite Character

Draco.  He’s hilarious, brave, wise, and a giant talking dragon.  What’s not to love there?


One thought on “Dragonheart

  1. Pingback: Dragonheart: A New Beginning | Adventures of the Library Girl

Leave a Reply

