Dragonheart: A New Beginning


100_0391

Long ago, when majestic fire-breathers soared the skies, there lived a knight who would come face-to-face and heart-to-heart with the most remarkable creature that ever existed–the dragon.  The legend continues when a stable boy discovers the last living fire-breathing dragon and realizes his dream of becoming a knight in shining armor may come true.

John Dennis Quaid, Academy Award winner Sean Connery, Chris Masterson and Robby Benson in the fantasy-adventure that will thrill the entire family.”  (Description from the dvd case.)


This movie, more so than the first in the series, for some reason doesn’t have very good reviews and I can’t for the life of me understand that.  It’s a little less violent than the first one actually, I think.  Funnier.  I certainly think more kid friendly.  The dragon is cuter.  This one I would say is Princess Bride meets Karate Kid meets (to a lesser extent) a child-friendly version of Monty Python.

Also, if you saw my review of the first Dragonheart movie, you may remember my mention of strong female characters.  They’ve got nothing on Lian in this movie.  She is a force to be reckoned with and and such a strong and balanced sense of right and wrong.  Independent, but not too headstrong to heed advice from someone who knows better.

I doubly recommend these movies, so for my part they get a very raw deal indeed on IMDb and I say if you get the chance to watch them through your library or on tv somewhere or Netflix at some point if you have that you should definitely give it a whirl.  I’d maybe even say they’re worth renting if you had kiddos, or if you’re just tons of fun and don’t take yourself too seriously like myself.


Favorite Quotes:

“You’re a dragon, act like it!”

“I would have given you my heart and lost my soul.”

“It won’t feel this bad forever.”


Favorite Scene:

Dragon Breath


Favorite Character:

I really like Lian, and Mansel is so funny sometimes.  Still, once again, the talking dragon is definitely my favorite character.  He’s so cute and funny.  Drake is more adorable than his father, Draco.  I love him and he makes me want a pet dragon so so much.


Leave a Reply

